TIAT

"This Is A Test" (TIAT) is the Yellow Jacket Space Program's avionics and controls testbed launch vehicle designed for at least 4 test flights. Each flight will verify and validate YJSP's flight avionics and software systems, and its ability to model, test and control aerodynamics of launch environments. Tests will involve, in increasing difficulty, control in sub- and supersonic flight conditions, with roll, pitch, and yaw control through canards.

TIAT 3 Rocket.png

Technical Specifications

Max Velocity Apogee Max Acceleration Height Mass
380 m/s 3.2 km 250 m/s2 237 cm 10 kg
850 mph 2.0 miles approx 26 G's 7.7 ft 22 lbs

Components

TIAT is built in three sections, a Controls section, a Recovery section, and a Booster section.

Canard Can Assembly.png

Controls

The Control section houses the Canard Can, a densely packaged actuator-linkage assembly with servos to control the canards themselves. It also houses all test-critical avionics, including the TIAT Flight Computer, flight software, flight sensors, external interfaces, cabling, and much more! 

Recovery


The Recovery section houses twice redundant dual deploy altimeters of the drogue and main parachutes, each equipped with over 25 feet of shock cord, in addition to GPS tracking and camera feeds of launch and pyro separations.

Recovery Assembly.PNG

Booster

The Booster is designed to be a modular NAR L2 section that propels our control payload to flight test conditions. It's designed to accept several different commercial motors with no rework required to fly again.
 


TIAT Team

Shriv Seshan - TIAT Chief Engineer & Avionics Software/Hardware Lead - sseshan7@gatech.edu
Dimitri Psyhojos - Structures Lead - dpsyhojos@gatech.edu
Athreya Gundamraj - Flight Dynamics Lead - agundamraj3@gatech.edu
Kunal Gangolli - Systems Lead - kgangolli3@gatech.edu
Zachary Ernst - Systems Engineer - zernst@gatech.edu
AJ Schultheis - Mission Operations Lead - aschultheis3@gatech.edu